I’ve received a letter from the Hospital in response to my letter stating a preference for a simultaneous resection. They have discussed each with the other and “are both in agreement that it would be entirely reasonable to perform your bowel surgery and liver surgery at the same time”. Result!

This week I sent out an email to close friends to reveal the situation. Have already had some supportive calls and emails, which on top of family lurve kind of reminded me how useful it is to share and not be the hard, brave guy.

So I’m going the whole hog now and indulging myself with a little self-pity:

Marina & The Diamonds  –  I Am Not A Robot (The Shoes Remix)

You’ve been acting awful tough lately
Smoking a lot of cigarettes lately
But inside, you’re just a little baby
It’s okay to say you’ve got a weak spot
You don’t always have to be on top
Better to be hated than love, love, loved for what you’re not

You’re vulnerable, you’re vulnerable
You are not a robot
You’re loveable, so loveable
But you’re just troubled

Guess what? I’m not a robot, a robot
Guess what? I’m not a robot, a robot

The rain is falling again outside, but I’m looking forward now to going out to dinner. Daughter #1 is stuck out in a field again (Secret Garden) having failed to be put off by Latitude last weekend.

Speaking of hard men, more news of cancer in the celebrity world. John Hartson had emergency surgery to relieve brain pressure (he has secondaries there and in lung from testicular cancer). Forces me to quote from the Sp*rs manager of all people: “We are all pulling for the big man and if anyone can pull through it John can – he is as strong as an ox. He is a real fighter.” That shows how reasonable I can be 🙂

Also, Adam Yauch of the Beastie Boys had to announce a tour cancellation due to imminent radiation treatment for throat cancer – parotid (salivary) gland.

Good luck to us all.