So sad to read over the weekend that Mark Linkous (making music as Sparklehorse) took his life at 47 years old. It’s becoming very tedious saying goodbye to musical heroes.

I became interested in the late 90s when becoming aware of Americana – bought everything in sight especially the obscure EPs but then lost the habit. His songs were either incredibly soft and lyrical or cacophonous grunge. Not much in-between for Mark. His Guardian obit is on-the-mark: he took the cruel, the twisted, the ugly and made them beautiful.

“Hundreds of Sparrows” takes its lyrics from Luke 12:7 “Why, even the hairs of your head are all numbered. Fear not; you are of more value than many sparrows.”

Sparklehorse – Hundreds of Sparrows (1998)

For my ownsmall  part I stumble along in the chemo cycle. Feeling the effects of a cold which I need to watch because of diminished auto-immune system, but otherwise not too bad. I have a scan date for early May and a review session in mid May.