I adore spoken word songs. Two of the best examples I know are James Yorkston – Woozy With Cider, and Tindersticks – My Sister.

James Yorkston – Woozy With Cider

James Yorkston is such a talented writer. The version here is the remix by Jon Hopkins. As remixes go he didn’t change much, just replaced the electronics with a simple, elegiac piano backing. Which draws even more attention to the quality of Yorkston’s words. For me, Woozy with Cider is a love song. He is is love with the world, even when it is represented by a large city that chews people up. He is in love with his art, even if (because?) it will never make him rich. He is in love with humanity; even the haughty bartender who doesn’t know who he is, and that his song “peaked at number 172” in the charts. And he is in love with his sleeping partner, who will gently admonish him if he succumbs to the temptation of an early morning drink to celebrate the coming of summer (and if she wakes to catch him in the first place). Fair odds.

Meanwhile, in other news I called the cancer nurses on Thursday to ask after my biopsy results and they called back on Friday. The good news is that they found no traces of cancer in the sample they extracted.

It’s been a good 10 days or so. I’m a little bit in love with life myself.

That rules out recurrance of bowel cancer (as far as can be) and restores me to the original place of needing to get the secondary lesions taken from my lungs. I have been referred back to the other place to get moving again on that.