My date at Addenbrookes on Jan 3 turned out to be a bit of a damp squib. The drug hadn’t been ordered (properly) and there was nothing waiting for me. Spend a fair few hours in Clinic and Pharmacy but the short of it is that it will be ordered and delivered to me.

A day out in a large hospital is a perfect way to sample the latest infections. I chose an especially virulent chest bacteria/virus, and spent the rest of the week in bed generating generous quantities of thick phlegm. It never quite got to fever stage, so just one step short of pneumonia.

Then, another day out in Thoracic Park for  a bit of freezing and frying. I should be so used to it by now, but I do rather play these things down. It starts with a bit of throat spray and then a large injection directly into the neck. I could feel a little panic coming on so asked for more sedative. Problem solved.

An hour ago. the courier arrived with the drug. The Lonsurf Diary can commence properly now. Tomorrow is a handy date to remember (11/1) so that will be Day #1. A bit of a slow start, but hopefully not quite in the realm of “While we ponder when to begin, it becomes too late”, as warned by Marcus Fabius Quintilianus.

Lonsurf is an oral drug, as I’ve mentioned before. That doesn’t make it less intense than an IV. Eight tablets a day for 5 days, two days off, and then on again for another five days. That will be Cycle 1.

Boys and girls, I fear we need an inspirational quote to get us going in 2017. I choose this one from William James: “Pessimism leads to weakness, optimism to power.”

Stay positive.